StacyBee

Just Me

Letter of Recommendation September 27, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 3:54 pm

Dear Members of the Search Committee,

I am writing to give Zach Whalen my highest recommendation for any position you are offering.  I have had the opportunity to work with Zach on many occasions.  I first recognized Zach’s hard work on the Cross Country team while attending Carson Newman College.  Rigorous practice and busy competition schedules were hard enough, but Zach also maintained high marks in 2 separate majors.  Zach’s diligence also stood out as he often ran twice in the mornings…once to run with me, and once to run with the men’s team.  Zach is an accomplished musician, a self-taught guitarist, bassist, and composer, collaborating in several bands.  Zach is a regular runner and has disciplined himself to run several marathons and other races to maintain physical and mental acuity.  He also rides his bike to work at the university every day.

The manner in which Zach presents himself is often understated.  Rarely calling attention to himself, Zach works behind the scenes to keep many things running smoothly.  Not only does Zach maintain several academic and personal websites, he also is an artist, creating the designs, layouts, and code for them.  Among other methods of creating, he has used a coffeepot and our toaster to char paper, from which a promotional poster was designed.  I have noticed the way his colleagues and friends respect him for his mediating skills.  Zach is an observer, and notices how people are, thus is able to understand how to communicate well with people individually.  Zach reminds others to look at their surroundings differently by doing so himself.  He calls attention to various things of nature on our walks, and is curious about his environment.  Similarly, Zach likes to look at social and political issues from different angles, taking into account various news sources, history, and sociological influences on any number of topics.

Zach is no stranger to fun, either, and is able to take a light-hearted approach to life in general.  Zach likes to hop around with our “puppy,” play trucks with his nephews, sing in the shower, and quote “The Simpsons” in everyday situations.  But he also can tie a good knot, find a good campsite, and cook really well.  Zach enjoys all things outdoors and I believe he dreams of living in the woods someday.

As a member of our household, Zach plays a vital role.  He takes care of me, his wife, by studying, writing, and researching, and really enjoying what he does.  I don’t have him “trained” to do whatever I ask him to do.  Zach is his own person.  But, he recognizes and knows when something needs to be done around our home.  He senses and understands my needs/wants and tells me he loves me.  Zach is learning to understand me better, thus showing perseverance.

Thus, I give my full recommendation to my husband and friend, Zach.  If you are looking for the best person for the job, Zach Whalen is that person.  I am happy to discuss any further credentials via blog comment or email.

Stacy Whalen

 

2 Responses to “Letter of Recommendation”

  1. Gma Says:

    What a beautiful commendation ..Zachary is a lucky guy to have you…And it’s all true…

  2. Momma Rose Says:

    oh,I thank the Lord once again for you and your love for my Zachary


Leave a Reply

