StacyBee

Just Me

holidays October 23, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 1:57 pm

I’ve been thinking about the upcoming holidays of thanksgiving and christmas.  We are going to be bu-sy over Christmas break.  Beach house fun with gma and the crew, Zach goes to interview for jobs after that, flying/driving/traveling/preparing for that, then driving/flying to and from my parents’ house in SC.  So, for our sanity, it looks like we are going to stay in Florida for thanksgiving.  Zach and I have never had a thanksgiving or Christmas as “just us.”  I suppose the first few holiday seasons of our marriage have been about trying to divide time evenly between our families of origin.  And every year, I have seen the impending season and said ‘I am not going to feel pressured to be anywhere at any particular time.’  But the rush seems to happen, and before you know it, I have to pack all our long-sleeve stuff and teddy’s benadryl for a time away from home, and we usually aren’t exactly sure when we are going to be back.  Things will be different this year.  I am looking forward to spending thanksgiving with my husband, and hopefully some of our closest friends in our home-church group.  I can feel the adrenaline rising as I start to think about events that are to happen in the next, oh, 7 weeks.  I had my life planned out for the next year this past august.  It is not going exactly as planned.  There are a lot of things out of my control…and like I was talking about in my last post, I am learning to forfeit my control.  I don’t know about gifts for anyone for Christmas.  I don’t know how we are going to do it with Zach’s extended family.  We will be with them for Christmas.  With mine, we usually get one gift for one person.  It is going to be an exciting time.  But another thing I heard…something to help keep me focused on today instead of the future, is ‘what is life for except the quality of our daily experiences?’  I agree.  It is cliche, but true…I do need to make today a quality day.  So, when I get the urge to do something, I should do it.  Like call Jo-Ann’s to order a yarn color.  Like decide now about my student’s winter recital.  When/if I am going to hold one.  That could be a big decision.  I will think about it.  My inclination is to postpone it til the new year.  So, there.

 

Leave a Reply

