StacyBee

Just Me

back pain October 29, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 5:45 pm

So everyone has been ill in some way or another this morning…Last night at 3am. Zach woke me up in utter agony as his back started spasming.  He was trying to turn and forgot that his back hurt.  So basically, he was stuck and in extreme pain.  I didn’t know what to do.  So I finally got him to take an aleve, then he plopped back down.  He told me he might pass out…I had to leave the room.  He didn’t pass out, but my heart was already beating fast…I have not seen him in this much pain.  So it went without saying this morning that he got an appt at the student health center.  They gave him Flexeril and told him to take that and Aleve.  He also got another inhaler, which is good.  Last night, I had the thought that I wouldn’t know what position he should be in if he passed out….I think he should be on his side.  (pending back movement)  Also, I wouldn’t know where his inhalers were if he had an asthmar attack.  We have lots of old ones laying around the house.  But he has one good one that is in his backpack.  But it expires this week.  Anyway, I told Zach we should have one in the house, one in the car, and one in his backpack.  I would feel more prepared that way.  So … we have 2 now.  One that expires this week and one he got today.  I can’t think any more about that.  He got a flu shot, too.

Teddy has been getting sick the past 2-3 mornings.  He threw-up on our walk.  It’s a little rainy today.

So, I’ve been going to the Chinese Medicine school student clinic to get a few things addressed.  I get moxibustion done…  And basically I’ve talked out a lot of things.  Chinese Medicine is a lot about holistic approaches to disease and illness.  I’ve found that there’s lingering stress and anxiety from when my grandma died in March.  I am experiencing it in the form of anxiety attacks and conserving energy.  It’s a little more complicated than that.  It’s almost as if I’m going to a counselor.  It is good.  I’m learning how to feel and how to reconnect with my body after a pretty traumatic experience with my grandma.  I keep telling him (the student practitioner) that I don’t really have that much to stress or worry about, but he said he can see a lot of things in my life.  I don’t have to compare myself to anyone.  I have my own limitations, and it’s ok.  I’m learning to work with them.

So, one step at a time.

 

3 Responses to “back pain”

  1. Momma Rose Says:

    Oh my, what a day. Zach was right to think he might pass out. He once passed out on the roof of the house and his Dad and brothers passed him to me through a small window. Then I got him down the hall and into bed. You just do what comes naturally.
    When Zach and Andrew were younger, I carried an inhaler in my purse. They each had a prescription written to give me two inhalers each time. They each kept one in their backpacks, I had one in my purse, and one was in the medicine cabinet….
    those were the days

  2. Stacy Says:

    Yeah, I think I will get another inhaler that I know where it is! Zach will get better!

  3. Jill Says:

    Sorry to hear about Zach’s back! I hope he is feeling better now. Stacy, sorry I missed your call tonight. We have been having busy nights and days around here. I have strep throat and Ethan does, and it seems like everything is breaking! We need the buick checked out b/c the check engine light is on, we need a new tire for it, even Ethan’s v-smile is broken! I know it’s nothing major, but when it rains it pours sometimes! I hope we get to talk on the phone soon! Love, Jill


Leave a Reply

