StacyBee

Just Me

diapers April 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 8:23 pm

Hi everyone,

I know it may be a little early to be thinking about this, but I’m starting to think about what we’ll need to start collecting for our baby. I have been informed by Jill that we should be expecting a LOT from her, and that we won’t need to buy or register for very many “essentials.” She has a changing table, a crib, bottles, carrying sling, maybe a baby monitor, toys, enough diaper bags to give a few to me, decorations (if it’s a boy), and several other things. I am supposed to get a list of things that she is letting me borrow, so I can make another list of things I’ll need. I am going to make a registry at Target…I think we’ll need a “travel system” which I have heard is like a stroller and car-seat set (something that would fit in our car…I’ve heard they are huge), something to sit the baby in besides someone’s arms, a jogging stroller would be nice, and maybe some baby towels, clothes, or something. I know that garage sales and craigslist have baby stuff for sale all the time. Retail is way too expensive. Now for the crazy part…

We have been thinking of cloth diapering. Before you gasp, just know that I have researched this quite a bit and asked a new mother who has been cloth diapering exclusively for 6 months. Cloth diapering these days has made a comeback. It is a “greener” choice…the diapers can be re-used on multiple children, and though they are expensive on the front end, they end up saving something like $1000 over the course of 2 years of diapering. Plus, there’s a big re-sale market on them, believe it or not. I’ve researched a cleaning and rotation routine, figured out the pros and cons of the 3 basic types, and figured out what I’ll need to start. Apparently, you need about 24 diapers for your rotation. Then, as your baby grows out of them, you start re-selling and buying the next size up, if they’re not already one-size. They come in cute prints, too. All that to say, that I’ve created a diaper registry, since we won’t be needing a lot of other things. It is at http://nickisdiapers.com and you click on the “registry” tab, type in Whalen for the name. I registered for mostly neutral colors like white, greens, yellows, and then when we find out if it’s a girl or boy, I may add some pinks in there. Any questions out there?

I need to do laundry, vacuum, clean the bathrooms. I am stalling……………Zach is working in the library.

 

5 Responses to “diapers”

  1. Momma Rose Says:

    My three sons were raised in cloth diapers. Used for majority of time. We used the other kind more with Andrew……..

  2. Melinda Says:

    At least you won’t have a stinky diaper genie like we have right now. Since we got our washer for free on a street corner (i.e., it’s not the most efficient or quiet) and our dryer is really old (and diaper service around here is expensive) I decided to go with diapers in bulk from Costco. But if I get a new washer/dryer when we move I might try cloth. However, seeing red pepper and grape skins in Madeleine’s diapers now is gross enough and I get to wrap those right up and throw them away. Scraping and flushing would mean looking and smelling that longer than my current pregnant state would allow me to do right now. I already gag some days! I’m sure Madeleine will be so glad to know I share these things with other people.

  3. Edith Says:

    I think you are making a very wise decision and I support you 100%. I personally cannot wait until I am not buying diapers….well pull-ups at this point, which are more expensive than diapers! Hopefully Peyton will be potty trained here soon!

    I am very excited that I will be close by to help with the cloth diapers! I love learning new things!

  4. Jill Says:

    I am proud of you for wanting to do this and making a smart environmental choice! Of course you know, I choose to save the environment in other ways that I can. Like taking my water in my reusable aluminum water bottle everyday. πŸ™‚ (Just an idea . . . have a few disposable diapers on hand for when you take your baby to the nursery at church – the workers manning 6 or 7 or more babies will thank you for it I’m sure!)

  5. Melissa Ott Says:

    I can’t remember if I mentioned this or not, but you can get a less-bulky “travel system” than the ones Graco sells if you’re willing to mix and match. We got a Graco SnugRide and paired it up with an Inglesina Zippy, which has a universal carseat adapter (just straps, actually, but they tighten up really secure and worked great for us). The Zippy has an umbrella fold on it, so it folds more compact than most of the other travel system strollers out there. Others to check out are the Peg Perego Pliko P3 (also has a universal carseat adapter, although Peg Perego also makes an infant carseat I hear is really good), Chicco KeyFit and Chicco Trevi, and possibly the Britax Vigour with Britax Companion carseat. The Graco systems seriously are montrosities, so I’d highly recommend stearing clear of them if you’re as tight on space in your car as we are! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

