StacyBee

Just Me

Things I could do August 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 6:23 pm

Since my last post, Zach has become Dr. Zach, Megan has become Mrs. Cox, and I have become stay-at-home wife, keeper of the treasures-of-Whalen.  That includes nothing and everything, it seems.  I sometimes find it hard to find a reason to do something because it doesn’t seem urgent.  I don’t have a crying, needy baby yet, and Zach isn’t a crying, needy person, either.  Everyone is easy to please.  So.  What’s a girl to do?  So far, I’ave messed up my sleep schedule.  I couldn’t get to sleep last night until about 2, so today I ended up taking a nap.  I know my body needs some extra energy that could come from a nap, but it could be what has been keeping me up later.  I would like to start a routine, and since Zach will be starting one tomorrow, I might as well, too.  So far, my routing has been 1)wake up, 2)exercise walk with Teddy 3)eat breakfast 4)spend time on the internet 5)eat 6)watch tv 7)waste time 8)play the piano 9)internet, 10)etc.

At least my mornings are predictable.  So I made a list of things I could do, both today and in the coming days/weeks.

1)Read the Bible, 2)Read a library book, 3)Do a Prenatal yoga DVD, 4)figure out when the hospital is giving tours, 5)write down ideas for a birth plan, 6) go for a walk, 7)do a hypnobirthing CD, 8)crochet/knit, 9) move boxes/table to create a nursery/dining room, 10)give Teddy a bath, 11) do dirty dishes, 12)make a pie, 13) join Rappahannock Music Society, 14)find a piano teacher, 15)vacuum, 16)find some place to volunteer, 17)go swimming, 18)go to the coffee shop, 19)find a friend, 20)find energy to do any of the above.

I know that sounds pathetic.  Any stay-at-home wives out there who could give me some tips, I’d be very appreciative.

 

6 Responses to “Things I could do”

  1. Melinda Says:

    I wish things didn’t cost money because then it would be so much easier to decide to go and do things. If you’re willing to swallow the cost though, I think you should go out for a movie and also get a pedicure. Those are things I seriously doubt you’ll make a priority once your baby girl arrives but you can look back on as a fun way to celebrate your freedom before she arrives. Plus, if you’re like me, you can barely reach your toes anyway so it’s nice to have someone else make them look pretty, even if it’s just Zach giving you a foot rub. Justin even painted my toenails just to help me feel pretty 🙂 When pregnant with Madeleine, I took some time towards the end to freeze some easy meals that we could thaw and reheat after she was born and made some menu cards that Justin could use whenever I was too tired to make dinner and needed him to pitch hit for me. I’d say don’t set your expectations too high because you are right that your body needs rest as you push through these next weeks and you don’t need to feel guilty about not accomplishing everything on your list. But finding one or two things to do will help you feel like you’re not just sitting around on your bum waiting for those contractions to start. That gets old fast! Hope to talk to you soon 🙂

  2. Momma Rose Says:

    Oh , remember those days, new in South Carolina, waiting for Dr Whalen. I met a lady in the neighborhood who took me to her church’s womens group. I only went a few times but I met some people and didnt feel so alone. This neighborhood friend later helped me learn how to be a mummy. She had a very small day care in her home and was very patient with me! When Zach was a little baby I would get him ready, and it took me forever, pack a lunch and we would go to the mall. I would sit, eat my little sandwich and people watch. Such a big adventure.

  3. Edith Says:

    HI Stacy,
    I feel bad that we have not gotten a chance to hang out! Just to let you know there is a kids consignment sale going on tomorrow and wed. here in town. Go to http://www.weecycledwardrobe.com and you can find all the information. I stopped by there today….they have lots of clothes and other baby and kids stuff. I only bought one things but it’s kind of fun to look at the stuff. It would give you something to do! It’s pretty easy to find…i think the directions are on the website! Talk to you soon….

  4. Melissa Says:

    I think most women get insomnia to some degree during the last few weeks of pregnancy. It’s just so darn difficult to get comfortable! Take those cat naps while you can, and use the times when you can’t sleep to get stuff done. The feeling that you don’t have anything to do will go away once your baby girl gets here! Then, all of a sudden, you don’t have enough time to do everything you feel needs doing! How you are describing your days right now sounds about like how mine went before Sarah arrived. I broke up the monotony by volunteering my time at the Navy-Marine Corps Relief Society. It got me out of the house, and I felt like I was doing something important . . . giving some meaning to my life. I know you don’t have much time left before your baby gets here, so volunteering won’t be at the top of your list. But maybe if you feel the need to get out of the house and away from the baby for a couple of hours a week, you could consider volunteering somewhere. If you enjoy reading, right now would be a good time to read any books you may be wanting to read. I’ve been able to read exactly one book all the way through since Sarah was born, and she’s nine months old! My reading seems to be restricted to magazines right now, as I can read an article and put it down as needed.

  5. Amanda D. Says:

    Okay, a few websites to check out from your list…

    (1) mops.org, you can join as soon as you conceive and I’m sure there is a local group

    (2)
    visit http://www.birthingnaturally.net/birthplan/index.html, shop around, great site with many tools for the natural birther, that’s your goal, right? YOU CAN DO IT!! I did with 15 hours of labor, including three hours of pushing…call me if you need reassurance.

  6. Amanda D. Says:

    1. visit mops.org, you can join a local group from conception on, this really helped to get connected to mothers in my new town

    2. visit http://www.birthingnaturally.net/birthplan/index.html, shop around, this is a great site with lots of resources for knowing your birthplan options and resources. natural is your goal, right? YOU CAN DO IT!! I know, after fifteen hours of labor, including three hours of pushing…YOU CAN DO IT!!


Leave a Reply

