StacyBee

Just Me

what a day! September 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 6:20 pm

Can you believe it? We came all the way up to VA and we still can’t escape the tropical weather! We’ve got TS Hanna upon us now, spewing rain and a lovely breeze through the screen door. Had it open for a while, then decided it was getting everything wet.

I went on an energy spree this morning, after not feeling so energetic yesterday. I’ve been wanting to make a low-sugar tiramisu for a while, so I did this morning. I used decaf coffee and splenda. I guess the sugary things are the ladyfingers and little chocolate sprinkles, but other than that, I think it’s pretty reasonable. I realized as I was making it that there were eggs in it and it would not be baked. Even though the risk of food poisoning is small, I’d rather not take the chance with baby, so I just stuck it in the oven for 15 minutes. I know it won’t be authentic, but I didn’t use mascarpone cheese or real coffee or sugar, either, so why not bake it, too?

Then I baked some tortilla chips using the left over burrito shells, and then I made vegetable soup in the crockpot. That should be ready for dinner tonight. I’m excited I finally got to make it because it’s been too hot for soup until today’s blustery weather. There are sweet potatoes and barley in the soup.

Next, Zach and I started creating our baby’s room, which will be in the dining room. We took down the dining room table and replaced it with the dresser that was in the computer room. The dresser, besides holding all the clothes and blankets and baby supplies we’ve been collecting, will be a changing table, too…although, I’ve heard that most babies get changed on the floor or other place! I think I’ll slide the light blue chair over there, too, so we can rock her or feed her over there. Then, I’ll find a room divider, like a chinese trifold thingy, from the goodwill. That will separate the dining room from the tv room. Now to figure out where all the baby’s things will actually go…this will be fun. I like going through it all.

I’ll post a picture when things are a little more in place.

 

One Response to “what a day!”

  1. Melinda Says:

    Stacy,
    I have to confess that while I read this I had a huge bowl of brownie batter sitting in front of me (which included 2 raw eggs). You are a better woman than me; I paused momentarily after reading that you baked tiramisu then kept right on eating my batter. Sometimes a craving can’t be stopped except by eating what you want 🙂 We have an appointment this morning to get Parker’s carseat installed. Crazy, isn’t it, that this is all actually happening soon? We’ve been waiting so long and it’s almost over. Yes, I think this is crazy!!!


Leave a Reply

