StacyBee

Just Me

Weekend September 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 6:54 pm

This post will contain lots of random things:

This morning we visited the Presbyterian church in downtown Fredericksburg.  It is celebrating it’s 200th year…lots of old historical buildings downtown.  I found it easy to worship with more of a planned order of service than what I’m used to at more contemporary churches.  There are many congregational responses, hymns, etc.  And there was a choir.  Oh, and today it will be 98 degrees outside with a “feels like” temp of 105 or something ridiculous like that.

Teddy ate a salmon skin a few nights ago without us seeing it…it probably tasted very good.

Yesterday, we tried to take him on a walk, but it was too hot, so we came back early.  Gave him a bath in our bathtub, followed by a haircut in the bathroom for Zach, followed by a bathroom cleaning, considering there was dog/Zach hair everywhere.  I am really looking forward to living somewhere with a hose to wash Teddy and a plug outside to cut Zach’s hair!

Zach is out shoe-shopping by himself right now.  He wants a pair that is comfortable to stand and walk in, breathable, and looks good casual or dress-up.  That’s a pretty big order to fill, and I’m kind of glad he doesn’t want my help!

Yesterday, we ordered chinese take-out for lunch.  It was way too much food!  We could have done with one order of something and split it.  We also met with our doula, Sarah, for probably the last time before I give birth.  She does 2 prenatal visits, typically.  We went over my anxieties about the hospital and our birth preferences.  She said they looked pretty good, so I’m going to share them with my midwife on Thursday and ask her to “approve” them and sign off on it.  After Thursday, I’ll go every week to make sure things are still good.

The news to report with regards to the pregnancy is that I am feeling the baby move a lot, and my belly itches like crazy.  Can’t wait to meet that foot that keeps jabbing my ribs.  Also, I was somewhat frustrated yesterday at my high blood sugar readings.  For breakfast, I had oatmeal with splenda and a 1/2 banana.  Sounds reasonable, right?  Well it shot my reading up to 152, which is the highest I believe I’ve recorded.  Then, after Chinese food, it was 150.  I don’t know exactly what caused such high readings, but my hypothesis is either a)the banana, or b) the quantity of food I had at both breakfast and lunch.  I should eat smaller portions.

Here is the “nursery” area we set up for baby.  She will actually sleep in a mini co-sleeper next to our bed.  But for storing her things and rocking her, we have arranged this:

On to the house hunting front.  We were looking at a short sale in south Stafford county that would have worked pretty well for us.  It is a little small, and we might have grown out of it quickly, but the price was right.  Until….we heard the tenants were making an offer on it as well as 2 other offers.  That would make the price go up.  Plus, at the end of the process, you aren’t guaranteed the house, especially if there are 4 or more offers on the house.  So we decided to leave that one be.

The other house we are looking at is in the Ferry Farm subdivision, also in south Stafford.  We’ve heard good things about this neighborhood and better things about FF Elem. school.  Our realtor and several others have said something to the effect of, “we’d really like to move here.”  The house we’re looking at is a foreclosure, built in 1951, has the right number of rooms…enough to have a music room.  The kitchen was redone, new carpet, new paint, new windows, new roof.  When we went back, we were checking to see if Zach would have an allergic/asthmatic attack, since he did the first time we saw the house.  Fortunately, he didn’t have any problems.  We would want to get a new heating system, since it is still run on oil.  The HVAC guy who came out to make an estimate said it would be about 3600 to change the system to gas.  We’d also want to ask if he could expand the venting system to include the side room that looks like it used to be a porch/sunroom.  Anyway.  The problem with this house is that it costs more money.  We could potentially offer a lot less than what they’re asking and see what happens.  But, if I have a dedicated music room and a good neighborhood to work with, I might better be able to help with our income so that our payments aren’t too high.  Of course, I don’t know what it will be like with the baby.  We both really like this house.  It has character.  Please pray that we can make a good decision on whether we should make an offer on the house.  And, pray that we wouldn’t be house-poor if we got it!  Here are some pics of it:

Here’s the front:

And, we have received many beautiful gifts for our baby, including clothes, a baby chair, sheets, blankets, dishes, and some money for diapers.  I won’t be able to say it enough, but here it is again…thank you for caring about us!

 

4 Responses to “Weekend”

  1. Momma Rose Says:

    I loved reading all about your day. I didnt realize it was time for the once a week visits, oh my! Did Zach have a successful shoe hunting adventure?

    Rose

  2. Stacy Says:

    He was unsuccessful…but, still determined!

  3. Jill Says:

    I like the new nursery set up! Very creative and cute. I think you will enjoy that space when baby girl arrives. I can’t wait!

  4. Megan Says:

    Hey Stacy!
    I’s so excited to see pictures of your place and read all about your search for a new house. Have you heard apparently the rates have dropped? And may even drop more in the next couple weeks. Great time to settle if you are getting close to that step possibly! Anyways, can’t wait to come visit you and we are praying for you!


Leave a Reply

