StacyBee

Just Me

update September 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 10:55 pm

I went in for my weekly appt. today.  She did a strep B culture ( I won’t know the results til next week), and if that comes out positive, it means I have to have antibiotics during labor.  I think there’s a 50 percent chance either way.  She said I’m 1 cm dilated, which is normal at this stage in pregnancy.

The other thing we talked about with the Dr. was something called external version, which is a way to manipulate the baby from the outside in order to turn it.  You have to be hooked up to monitors and near enough to the operating room in case something goes wrong.  In my case, the dr. did not recommend it because my placenta is in the front.  Which means, when they twist and turn my belly (hard and painful, from what I hear), they could bruise or rupture my placenta.  So, that’s not really in the picture.

There are other ways to try to get the baby to turn, including propping an ironing board up on the couch and laying feet up in the air to try to sink the baby up into my lungs area.  Then, when I stand up again, she’ll have to turn over in the right position.  They recommend doing this for 10 minutes several times a day.  Also, I can play music through earphones where I want her head to go.  There are a few other things that I’m going to do as well.

So all that time we thought we were patting her little bum when in fact it was her head.  If I had someone stroking my head all the time, I’d want to stay there, too!  We’ll have to stop doing that.  Another thing is that I think the baby can sense tension and whether I’m ready for her to come out.  She is conscious in the womb, and I know she can feel whether we’re ready for her or not.  I think I need to talk to her more, remind her that we really do want her and that it’s ok to turn over and meet us.

Sorry for the despondent post yesterday, but when you make plans and expectations and then all of a sudden you have to change them, it is almost like the death of an idea.  In our case, the idea was a well controlled normal delivery.  Is God trying to teach me something here?  I’m sure…me being the control freak I am.  Let go, Stacy, let go baby.

 

2 Responses to “update”

  1. Melinda Says:

    You, Zach, and baby w are all in our prayers Stace. I’m so glad you’re open to doing whatever it takes to try and encourage your daughter to change positions while recognizing a healthy mom and baby are what’s most important…even if that means a c-section. Have you seen the movie Juno? If so, you’ll remember the part where Juno goes to get her sonogram and her step-mom yells at the sonogram tech…if you haven’t seen the movie, then you should because you’ll appreciate that moment. Sometimes it seems unfair that a person in a position like that is the one to break harsh news to you, especially since they aren’t the ones who will help you brainstorm alternatives. I’ll be thinking about you propped up against the ironing board. Maybe you could go to a park and do the ol’ “skin-the-cat” move, although I bet that’d be hard with the tum-tum. But the thought of it being attempted makes me smile 🙂 I love you and please keep us posted!

  2. Molly Says:

    Hey Stacy.. I found your blog awhile ago through either Carol or Melinda’s blog and so I’ve been stalking you on here! I just wanted you to know that i’ve been praying for you and your little family. I’m definitely thinking about you, as it sounds like you’ve had a crazy, sometimes difficult week and hope that things work out for you to not have to have a c-section. Definitely keep us posted!


Leave a Reply

