StacyBee

Just Me

How many casseroles can I make? October 16, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 3:39 pm

The question is, how many casseroles, banana breads, and other things can I make and fit in the freezer before next Wednesday? It looks like I might be scheduling a c-section for Wednesday…!!!??? How do I feel? Weird, nervous, scared, happy, and more. The doctor said he wouldn’t care whether I wanted to wait for labor or schedule…except that he will be out of town for several days starting next Thursday. Her lungs and all her systems are as ready now as they will be. Her due date is next Thursday. The possibility of her turning vertex is very slim. I could schedule a section for Wednesday and then I may go into labor before that. But I would like for this dr. to perform the surgery if I’m going to have to have it. I asked the dr. all kinds of questions today because I am nervous. The main things I’m nervous about is 1) feeling myself go numb from the spinal, and 2) not being able to breathe while I’m on the operating table. Zach and I still have to make a decision for exactly how we want to do this.

I’m watching the price is right. It is great fun!
Oh, the nurse came in and said, “Here’s your flu shot” Didn’t even ask me if I wanted one before she stuck my arm. Kinda weird.

Here are some pictures from the surprise phone shower from my college girlfriends:


Here’s a few pictures from another surprise. Aunt Judy (Zach’s aunt) and cousin Rochelle sent a box full of wrapped presents. What a fun thing to open! The outfits are really cute and unlike any other baby clothes I’ve gotten so far. This kid is going to be so well dressed!

And, last but not least, here’s a picture of me today, at 39 weeks:

Please pray that we know what to do and that I don’t spend the next week being a nervous wreck. In scheduling a birth, it is easy to think we should have everything ready and planned and perfect for her arrival. But, I have to remember I don’t have to. What should Zach and I do this weekend?

 

10 Responses to “How many casseroles can I make?”

  1. Jill Says:

    Aww, Stacy you still look so great!!! You are all belly. And I think your hair looks great in that one pic of you opening presents from your college girlfriends. I want that haircut! Maybe I’ll make an appointment . . . anyway, I am excited for you! I think everything is going to work out. And yes, remember you don’t have to be perfectly ready . . . I don’t think anyone ever really is, especially with their first baby! I know you’ll do great!

  2. Carol Says:

    Hi Stacy,
    Wow – next week! How exciting for you both! If you do end up scheduling a c-section for next week, then my best advice to you and Zach this weekend is to sleep sleep sleep. Sleep late. Go to bed early 🙂 Maybe do something romantic for just you two because after your baby girl comes, it might be a while before you can have a true date night again. And I have to agree with Jill that you look fantastic! You wear full term pregnancy very well. It’s crazy how close in age your little girl and baby Parker are going to be! I’m looking forward to hearing about her birth and learning her name 🙂 Love you,
    Carol

  3. Gma Says:

    Praying like crazy…

  4. Megan Says:

    Stacy,
    I’m so excited for you and SO proud of you! I think you are doing a wonderful job with letting go and trusting God. You look so adorable in your 39 weeks picture….and so happy. Just imagine how happy you will be when your little girl comes! I’m so excited I might get to be there. Love you!
    Megan

  5. Melissa Says:

    Stacy, you look so cute! Megan, do you go anywhere near DC on the way to the hospital? I’d love to come, but I have jury duty–grrr!! Maybe we can arrange to meet later?

  6. Momma Rose Says:

    Baby Girl is already blessed because she is arriving on wings of prayer….

    we will be there to pray

    Enjoy each other for the next few days….

  7. Mom and Dad Says:

    Stacy,
    Wow, you look so great. Thanks for sharing some of your shower/gift pictures. You are blessed to have such caring friends and family.

    You and Zach are going to do so great, come Oct 22nd! Meanwhile, have some fun, rest, and enjoy each other. Make sure you camera batteries are fresh for the big event!!

    We love you and continue to pray. Can’t wait to see all 3 of you. Love, Mom and Dad

  8. Mom and Dad Says:

    Stacy,
    Wow, you look so great. Thanks for sharing some of your shower/gift pictures. You are blessed to have such caring friends and family.

    You and Zach are going to do so great, come Oct 22nd! Meanwhile, have some fun, rest, and enjoy each other. Make sure your camera batteries are fresh for the big event!!

    We love you and continue to pray. Can’t wait to see all 3 of you. Love, Mom and Dad

  9. Melissa Ott Says:

    Stacy,

    I’m so sorry to hear things aren’t going the way you wanted them to! Babies definitely have their own sense of self-will even in the womb!

    I wanted to reassure you on the going numb bit. It’s really not as bad as it sounds. You will just stop feeling anything. Of course, in my case, I was ready to stop feeling the contractions. As long as you have a good anesthetist, you will be fine. In your case, you will be numb for such a short amount of time. As soon as it’s all over, they’ll pull it out, and the feeling will gradually return to your legs. Honestly, you will be so ready to meet your baby girl, you probably won’t really even notice the numb bit. I can’t tell you anything about going through a c-section, but if you have questions about the epidural, please feel free to send me an email.

    I completely agree with the other ladies about spending some one-on-one time with Zach this weekend. It will be a while before you are able to go out without the baby, especially if you are breastfeeding. Sarah won’t take a bottle, so it wasn’t until she was about 8 months old and was well into eating solids before I could leave her for more than two hours at a time.

    You’ll do fantastic, and you’ll be bringing home your gorgeous baby girl in just a few short days! 🙂

    Melissa

  10. Melinda Says:

    I am so excited for you and Zach! Now that Parker has arrived, I am remembering how beautiful life is with a newborn. I know you too will look into her eyes and be filled with awe and delight, regardless of how she arrives just as tears fill my eyes when I look into those of my son. Thanks so much for your phone call…I promise to return it soon! Love to you all; you’re continually lifted up in our prayers.


Leave a Reply

