StacyBee

Just Me

Our last weekend as a childless couple October 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 7:11 pm

Sunday morning, Zach and I and Teddy went down to the Rappahannock and got to squish our feet in the sand.  I have had this odd desire to feel wet sand-type things.  Like sand, baking soda, powdered sugar, etc.  I know some pregnant women get the craving to eat it…I just want to feel it and rub it between my fingers and toes.  This was so great!!!!

We also decided to go to Snead’s Asparagus Farm, which had been turned into a harvest wonderland.  It was very low-key fun with lots of little kids running around.  There were lots of pumpkins, produce, and kettle corn (we finished that whole bag).  Horses, llamas, and a barn full of rope swings.  Basically, we got to walk around, talk, and enjoy each others’ company.  There was a corn maze, but it was for, say 4-5 year olds.  Not at all like the ones that take hours to go through.  Here is a sunflower at the farm:

So this was our last weekend as single married people without kids.  I am really nervous about tomorrow’s scheduled c-section, but I must choose to look over the surgery/prep part of it to the birthday of this baby.  Even though it is shorter and basically less work for me, a surgical birth seems the harder of the 2 ways to be born.  I find myself getting jealous of people who have had the opportunity to go through the trial of labor…but I know this is also a trial for me.  And for Zach.  We were so “prepared” for a normal birth for our child, and then over the last month, we’ve had to change our perspective completely.  Going from hypnobirthing and a possible homebirth to a scheduled c-section is quite a big change.  Part of me wonders if this is the right thing to do.  Both my mom and aunt had breech deliveries and their babies/deliveries turned out fine.  Why can’t I do that?  I don’t know.  I just don’t feel safe delivering a breech baby because the doctors don’t know how to do it these days.  Plus, I don’t think she’s staying frank breech (the easiest position for a breech delivery).  I think her legs are moving up and down.

People keep telling me to wait until I go into labor…she could turn during labor.  But most of the babies that turn during labor or right before don’t go a full 40 weeks.  I’m already at 40 weeks.  So, let me just say what we’ve done to encourage her to turn, just so I can clear my conscious and reiterate to myself that we’re doing the right thing.  Lots of swimming, laying inverted on the ironing board, frozen veg on her head, soothing music/sounds/flashlight in my pelvic area, prayer, hypnotherapy, rebozo, therapeutic massage, acupressure, acupuncture, moxibustion, hot baths, and the Webster chiropracting technique (7 visits!).  Not to mention we talk to her and explain what she needs to do.  We did all these things for about 3 weeks straight.  The only things we haven’t done were homeopathic pulsatilla and external cephalic version.  I’m not a candidate for ECV because of my front-lying placenta.  After looking at my list, I realize we’ve done everything.  If she was going to turn, she would have.  And if the Lord still wants her to turn, He can certainly make the path clear for her to do so between now and tomorrow morning.  Until then, all I can do is get my bag packed, get my Ipod full of Bob Marley, and go read a book.

 

3 Responses to “Our last weekend as a childless couple”

  1. Peter Says:

    Stacy,

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you, Zach and the baby munchkin tomorrow. I can’t wait for you all to be parents–it really is a lot of fun (if also a bit overwhelming)!

  2. Melinda Says:

    Hooray! She’s here! Wendy is beautiful and I’m so happy that you can finally hold her in your arms! Love to you all 🙂

  3. Melissa Says:

    Stacy, she’s beautiful! I’m so proud of you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

