StacyBee

Just Me

more pictures April 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 4:08 pm

Rose and Paul came to visit a few days ago.  It was the most gorgeous weekend we’ve had all year in Virginia.  No rain, snow, or wind.  Temps in the mid 70s.  100_2411Perfect days to plant my square foot garden (Thanks for the suggestion, Aunt Melinda!), clean up the yard, chase some cats, and pressure wash the house.  Rose weeded the edge of the driveway and cleared out under the front trees.  She also gave me a tour of the front yard, showing me what plants were what, and we conjectured about the past gardener’s intentions with plant/flower placement.  Wendy got to spend time outside with pa pa.  100_2418Paul and Zach washed the house and garage.  I know it doesn’t look great, but believe me, it is MUCH better than it was.  At least now, there’s only paint chips to worry about.  We plan to paint the garage at some point.  Zach wants to paint it green.  I think that would be ok.  100_2424Teddy has been claiming the backyard.  He has been chasing several cats almost every day.  I read the Square foot gardening book and tried to follow most of it.  We also planted sugar snap peas and mixed annuals behind the garage.  Here’s what seeds are in my garden box so far: 2 pepper plants, 2 cucumber bushes, 2 squares of carrots, 1 onion square, 2 nasturtium squares and 1 marigold square.  I am going to go get some mixed lettuce and broccoli and cauliflower plants to fill the rest.  100_24231I will put squash and zucchini behind the garage when the weather gets a little warmer.  It is supposed to be 29 degrees tonight, so I’ll have to cover the box with a tarp or something.  I also have a pot ready for tomatoes and I am going to get a few pots for herbs and one for strawberries.  I think we have good soil and sun for a blueberry bush.  The soil has to be acidic and you need a lot of sun.  I realize I’m going crazy with all these planting ideas, but it’s so fun to think about.  One step at a time…

I finally got a picture of Wendy sucking her toes.  It is so cool.100_2407

She is also really good at crinkling the newspaper and looking at books.100_2409Goodbye!

100_24041

 

3 Responses to “more pictures”

  1. Momma Rose Says:

    What a great review of our visit. We had so much fun and can’t wait to see the you and our wonderful family again!!!

  2. Momma Rose Says:

    You did not mention the beautiful fashion model that visited while we were there. She was stunning!

  3. Gma Says:

    Gpa and I enjoyed the pictures…Thanks Stacy..


Leave a Reply

