StacyBee

Just Me

2nd cup of coffee April 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 1:51 am

I hardly ever even drink one cup…I just drank a second this evening.  Wendy has been giving us a difficult time at nights.  She wakes up completely around midnight, then again around 4 or 5.  This is not a problem.  I usually just feed her and try to put her back to sleep.  The problem is that she frequently yells out and/or screams and moans several times throughout the night in addition to the feeding/changing times.  When that’s happened (infrequently) in the past, Zach and I would take turns going in to replace the pacifier or try to calm her down.  But recently, she doesn’t want to go back to sleep, and the wailing and screaming gets louder and louder.  Wendy doesn’t seem happy with Zach trying to calm her down, which is frustrating to him, since he’s trying to give me a break.  After both of us have tried holding her hands, rocking, swaying, and singing, and more, I just feed her again…that is the surefire way to get her back to sleep.   I hate doing it that way because usually I had just fed her an hour earlier.  I just don’t want to create a habit of feeding her every time she cries…it’s just frustrating.  Let’s see how tonight goes.

Something else: we purchased a lawn mower today and Zach used it.  We have shorter grass now.  Hooray!

I went to Dana’s baby shower today and saw several friends I hadn’t seen since high school…Chrissie, Heidi, Molly, Stacy(I did see her at Megan’t wedding)  It was kind of weird, but pretty cool.  Catching up felt good.  I don’t know when I’ll run into these people again, but I might.

We got our soil tested for free at the grand opening of a new nursery.  I wanted to see the pH level of the soil to see if it would be good for blueberries.  The right side of our yard was 5.8, the left was 6.5.  Blueberries like 5.4 and under, I believe.  So, we’re pretty close on the right side!

Zach and I met 3 more sets of neighbors between the 2 of us today.  Bill in #15, Susan behind us, and Sarah and her family who live on the next street over.  I think people are slowly emerging from hibernation.  Everyone we’ve met says they are glad to finally see someone in the house and that it’s shaping up nicely.  I think I like our neighborhood.

 

2 Responses to “2nd cup of coffee”

  1. Momma Rose Says:

    Thanks for blogging. Wow , sounds like you have it rough at night. Hope tonight is quieter, I know you would appreciate the sleep. How is your garden growing?

  2. Melinda Says:

    We need to talk. There’s so much to share: babies who prefer to eat than sleep, meeting neighbors, yardwork, dogs chasing cats (Oreo got chased into our attic this afternoon by our neighbor’s dog), etc. I’ll try to call tomorrow but if I don’t catch you we’ll definitely connect next week! Love you.


Leave a Reply

