StacyBee

Just Me

Allergies, dandelions, and the garden April 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 3:09 pm

Wendy woke me up no less than 6 times between 1 and 4 last night.  We had the windows open and fans going and air conditioner, since it was 96 degrees yesterday.  The AC just doesn’t work that well upstairs.  We have a window unit all ready to install.  So, I think her discomfort had to do with allergens creeping through the windows.  She must be taking after Zach and I with our allergies.  This morning, we slept in til 8:30.  Wendy didn’t wake up until about 9:30.  I walked into her room to this:

100_2456and this:100_2457A few minutes later, she was reading her book, as seen above her right shoulder.

Dandelions.  Everywhere.  I laughed at the commercial for Scotts turf builder 2, thinking, who cares about dandelions?  And yes, I know the redeeming qualities of this oft-hated “weed,” including the roots being used as a coffee substitute, the leaves being used in salads, etc.  I just don’t see myself needing THIS much coffee substitute:

100_2458

100_2459

100_24602

The pictures don’t do it justice.

Garden.  I don’t have a picture of that right now, but everything has sprouted except the strawberries and peppers.  I’m a little worried about the peppers, and if they don’t start in the next week, I think I may just go get some seedlings.  I’m not expecting much out of the strawberries right now.  So, I’ve little sprouts of marigolds, nasturtiums, cucumbers, onions, carrots, and peas.  I have plants of red and green lettuce, broccoli, and tomatoes.  I’d really like to try growing some yellow tomatoes if I can find some seedlings.  I wonder if the local nursery has them or, since it’s an heirloom plant, if I have to get it from someone’s garden.  I know Rose and Paul have grown them…

There was something else I was going to write about, but I’ve forgotten.  Maybe later.  Oh yeah…does anyone know when and how much benadryl I can give a 6 month old baby (for allergies…not sleep!)?

 

3 Responses to “Allergies, dandelions, and the garden”

  1. Melinda Says:

    It’s so hard for me to contemplate 92! Although we had some 70+ degree weather last week, we’re back into the 40s and 50s so all of my dandelions are still low to the ground and just starting to flower. Poor Wendy! I’m not positive on the benadryl dosage; I’d just call your pediatrician’s office first thing tomorrow and ask them. I hope she handles things better tonight. My folks said it’ll be a hot one again tomorrow. Good luck getting the window unit in! Love ya.

  2. Carol Says:

    I should send Soren your way to pick dandelions 🙂 He loves pulling the yellow flowers off. Which ultimately doesn’t get rid of the weed but might slow their spread a bit. We’ve got the heat here today. It just feels wrong for April to be in the 90’s.

  3. I’m so happy to hear your garden is doing so well. We still have a few more weeks until our warm weather vegetables get planted. You and Zach will love the nasturtiums in your salads over the summer. The flowers have a peppery flavor and it’s always fun to add something different into the salad.

    -Jaclyn


Leave a Reply

