StacyBee

Just Me

Spring Schedule April 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 2:21 pm

Since living here in VA, I’ve had a rough time getting acclimated to this “new” place. (I lived near here in high school.) It’s been about 9 months already, but so much has happened. Moving (twice), buying our first house, giving birth to Wendy, not teaching piano lessons, not seeming to be able to START teaching again, not having the same friends nearby, not being able to exercise or run how I did in the past, and having a semi-permanent guest living with us. These are neither positive or negative on their own…just different – very different – than my life in Florida. Not to mention, the climate, flora, and fauna are quite different. It has been pretty hard for me not to compare VA to FL. I keep thinking of the Sara Groves song, Painting Pictures of Egypt.:

I’ve been painting pictures of Egypt
Leaving out what it lacked
The future seems so hard
And I want to go back
But the places that used to fit me
Cannot hold the things I”ve learned

etc. etc.

This refers to the Israelites, who, after starting out with Moses in the wilderness, longed for their lives back in Egypt, even though they were slaves back there. I’m not saying I was a slave back in FL, but that there is something NOW that the LORD has for me, for us. I’ve already experienced that, especially through Wendy.

That said, Zach and I are half-heartedly trying to claim this place as our own by finding redeeming qualities of the climate, flora, and fauna. Spring seems to be quite an event. I don’t remember the exact order of it, but I’ve noticed there seems to be a long drama called “Spring” that unfolds, one plant/act at a time. So far, daffodils tulips, dogwoods, forsythia, azaleas, cherry blossoms, pear blossoms, lilacs, and now wisteria, have emerged. I am having a good time discovering what exactly is blooming. I was pleasantly surprised at the wisteria.

And of course, the garden. I’m glad I’ve got that to watch. The peppers still haven’t popped through. Two nights ago, Dad, Zach, and I tasted our first food from the garden: Red Lettuce. We made pretty good sized salads. I just pluck off the outer leaves, letting the inner leaves continue growing. I did end up buying a 4 pack of yellow pear tomatoes to plant behind the garage. Here are some pictures.  This is of sweet peas (on the right) and yellow pear tomatoes on the left.
100_2471

This is the square-foot garden:100_2472

This is the plant that popped through first – baby carrots:100_2473

And here is a hanging basket with basil and cilantro poking through:100_2474

Zach and I found Alum Spring Park last weekend and went for a stroll with Wendy along a few paths.  I had no idea it was right near campus.  If we had known about it, we may have been able to connect with the natural side of F-burg a little sooner.  I plan on making a few running routes for Zach at this park.  For those of you who don’t know, I am Zach’s personal trainer for his running goal coming up in November.  You can ask him about it if you are interested!

So, this has been a long post and I’m surprised Wendy is still somewhat content sitting under her playmat.  I suppose the fact that Hoda and Kathy Lee are on helps keep her attention.  Time to rescue her…

 

One Response to “Spring Schedule”

  1. Uncle Andrew Says:

    Thank Wendy for me! I got to show off another picture of her at work. They all think she’s adorable. Work is going so-so. It could be better. I need to get a new one, haha.


Leave a Reply

