StacyBee

Just Me

GroBaby July 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacybee @ 8:01 pm

I thought Wendy was awake from her nap, but I guess not.  She’s asleep again, which gives me a chance to write a comment or two about a diaper I’ve been “watching.”

The Natural Diaper Company has a new diaper out called GroBaby.   Check out the diaper here:

http://www.thenaturalbabyco.com/grobaby%E2%84%A2-ic-11_16.html

It is a one-size all-in-two diaper, which means you can reuse the shell several times and just snap in a new soaker.  I don’t have one yet, but I’m interested in looking at this diaper and trying it.  I have another type of diaper this company makes:  DreamEze, which are really soft and absorbent.  The things I like most about the DreamEze is that it is side snapping and trim.  I actually use my DreamEze at night a lot because of the absorbency.  I wonder if the GroBaby will be similar.

From the looks on their website, I think the mesh inner lining looks like it would help the shell dry faster than other covers.  It also looks as if there are 2 snaps, one in the front, one in the back to help keep the soaker in place, which I think will be very useful.  I also like the fact that the soaker is organic cotton, which is usually very soft next to baby’s skin.

However, looking on various retailers’ websites, I can’t figure out if it is hook-and-loop (velcro) closure or snap closure.  I have been finding both.  I think I’d like it more if it were side snapping…that helps clothes lay more flat against the diaper.  If it is velcro, I’d be interested to hear if it really stays pill-free.

I usually don’t like the snap-down one size mechanism because either they come unsnapped as you are putting it on baby, or it makes for too much bulk in the front of the diaper.  Maybe this one will not have those problems.

I’d really like to try this diaper, though, and compare it to another one-size all-in-two diaper that I recently wrote a post about, SoftBums.   After doing some math, I noticed that a GroBaby with 3 inserts will run about $41.90 compared to SoftBums, which runs about $43 if you upgrade to the bamboo.  If you stick with microfiber inserts on the SoftBums, it is only $33.  So the question is, which soakers are more absorbent?  GroBaby Organic Cotton, SoftBums Microfiber, or SoftBums Bamboo?

I’d like to try and find out!

 

Leave a Reply

